Yo Ho Ho Are you Ready for KCW?

You’ll never believe it, but I have made another costume for the kiddo! Do your kids like costumes as much as mine does?

PIrateCostume-Main-ImFeelinCrafty

The year before last my family was a silly band of pirates for Halloween. My son’s uncle had given him a pirate costume the Christmas before that. It was just a fun store bought costume. My son loved it! It was a hit at his birthday party. The problem with is was that it couldn’t be washed. If the red striped shirt got wet, it bled. And you can only imagine after a year of play, a birthday party costume and a Halloween costume, it needed a wash. So it had to go away. That was over a year ago.

PIrateCostume-Whole-ImFeelinCrafty

The kid kept asking for a new one, just like his old one!

PIrateCostume-Shirt-ImFeelinCrafty

So I finally got down to it and it took all of two hours! Um. Hello?? WHy do I put off these things?

PIrateCostume-YoHoHo-ImFeelinCrafty

I used the Flashback Tee pattern. Lately, I haven’t’ been using a lot of patterns, but sometimes it’s easier to just pull it out and cut. No thinking…. I used a red and white striped tee from my recycle stash. I was going to make the arms red, but it just wasn’t working for me. Instead I raided my husband’s ‘t-shirt to turn into rags’ recycle pile for a plain ole white shirt.

PIrateCostume-Last-ImFeelinCrafty

The vest was actually the one his Dad wore for Halloween, just cut down smaller! And then pants are just comfy pants I made with fleece!

And the pirate hat and other pirate party accessories are available at my etsy shop!

what are you making for KWC?

 

Shared with these Link Parties!

Comments

  1. Did you print the hat? This is an adorable outfit on an adorable boy who looks so like you it is uncanny.

  2. Sarah Helene says:

    Your ‘kiddo’ is energetic and HAPPY with his new pirate costume sewn with LOVE by his Mom! You are thinking: GREEN as you re-cycled fabrics, and why not? Cute son modeling in his photo shoot! Sarah Helene, Minneapolis, MN

  3. Margaret Beard says:

    Oh, he’s so cute!

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.