Pikachu!

I’m not much up on the whole Pokemon thing. The kiddo isn’t into that whole thing yet. But…

Pikachu-Main-ImFeelinCrafty

One of his buddies up the street is! And she just had a Pokemon birthday party. So of course I needed a birthday present. I know our friend loves stuffies. I know she loves Pokemon and her favorite character is Pikachu. And I’ve been following along with ikat bag‘s Menagerie Stuffie Pattern.

Menagerie Pattern

Have you seen it? I was waiting everyday to see what she would come up with next! Using the same basic pattern she came up with a frog, a dragon, a shark, and my favorite, the squid! And many more! 17 actually. Fantastic! It’s so cool. The pattern is not out yet, but she did participate in Sew Mama Sew’s 6 Weeks of Love for Softies and gave us a sneak peek at the pattern with the Raccoon Pattern.

Pikachu-Smile-ImFeelinCrafty

So I jumped! Stuffie + Pikachu + Menagerie Raccoon Pattern = AWESOME Birthday Present! The pattern was perfect for my project! It’s so simple!

Pikachu-Materials-ImFeelinCrafty

I got to use two new materials that I have never used before! The plastic eyes and the stuffing beads. I ordered the beads not long ago to use in the lap desk, but the bag ended up being tiny. These are like little beads of plastic, not the tiny polyfill microbeads that fly around. I was going ot return them, but it cost more ot return them so I figured I’d use them sooner or later. Yep!! Good call!

Pikachu-Face-ImFeelinCrafty

The obvious changes from the raccoon are the ears and the tail. I did add heavy interfacing in the ears to help them stay straight. I also deleted the nose and instead hand embroidered it.

Capture

Image via Polygon

I debated adding the open pink mouth.  After I started all the pieces, I was sewing on the cheeks and was about to sew on the open mouth when I saw this picture. Totally inspired the closed mouth. So sweet looking!

Pikachu-Back-ImFeelinCrafty

Pikachu-BackDtl-ImFeelinCrafty

And I moved the stripes from the tail to the back! For the cheeks and the back I used high quality wool felt, instead of a fleece. But for the tail I did use a little bit of brown fleece. It was much easier to pull through the tail than the felt would have been. I think if I made it again, I would add one piece across the back instead of 4 little pieces. You can download the pieces I added here. There are no seam allowances included in my pieces.

Pikachu-Last-ImFeelinCrafty

I think it turned out freakin’ adorable! I’m in love with it! And I know the birthday girl was pretty happy with him too! There are such cute critters in the whole Pokemon thing, that  I almost want to try to make a whole series of them! What would you make with her pattern?

Comments

  1. Wow! Fabulous Pikachu!

  2. Super cute!

  3. Thats so cute. I love when patterns are so versatile.

  4. Oh, I love it! It is so cute! I only just saw this post today when a friend told me about it, because I’ve been off the grid, working on er… Menagerie. I am SO happy you’re already playing with the pattern. Thank you for the shoutout!

  5. Such a perfect version of Pikachu! Too cute, Louise!

  6. deuteragonist says:

    I’m so grateful to have found this pattern! My girls are new to pokémon, but full of creative inspiration (for Mommy to execute, of course!).

  7. I’m so glad I found this! I have made the raccoon, and my son just requested a Pikachu stuffed animal!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Pikachu! I made Pikachu! I made a neighbor one a while back using the Ikat Bag’s Menagerie Pattern with a few […]

  2. […] make it?? Well, it took a few trials. I started with the pattern from Ikat Bag that I used for my Pikachu. But then altered a bit here and there. I added the tail and altered the front and head to get the […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.