Woodsy Baptism Reception

The second party I want to share is the Baptism Reception we had for my son on his special day! The theme I choose was a woodsy theme. Why woodsy? Because my son LOVES rocks and being outside camping and playing in the woods!The invites set the mood with the wood grain background.  Also incorporated into the decorations were birds and eggs. 

I’ve mentioned before that I love party favors. So as I was thinking about what they would be I wanted something living, something that family could take home and plant. That’s how we ended up with flowers in a little tin bucket!

 Like most things in my little world, some things went perfectly and then other things went way wrong…. We had planned the party to be mostly outdoors. (a little background, I live in Seattle, the party was on the Gulf Coast) we cleaned my Mom’s back porch and back yard. and we cleaned and cleaned some more. And we cleaned inside, but the party was to be outside… It was warm, but actually kinda nice. The day of the party, it was HOT!!! We had a bag of blue chocolates that was left outside (in the shade) while we were at the service. When we came home the bag was a bag of one big melted chocolate!

Needless to say, the party moved inside while most of the decorations were outside!

Even though the decorations were beautiful, yet maybe overlooked since the party took place away from them, the day was perfect! The Baptism was very precious. My two best friends from growing up stood up and agreed to be there for my son, to be a part of his spiritual life and stay by his side on his journey through life. The ceremony was special and so was spending time with family and friends afterwards to celebrate.

And I just have to share how adorable these two cousins are!

Stay tuned… This week we’ll learn more about parties from Celebrations at Home, some woodsy party inspiration and next week a couple of tutorials from this party! Exciting!!

How would you have handled the heat?? I probably should have moved the desert table inside when we realized how hot it was! Oh, well! We were having too much fun to make that kind of move!

invite template via  nonpareil (unfortunately their website was hacked, but just in case they come back this was the link) and here’s their FB page
Max’s portrait in the first set of pictures was done by my cousin Katherine Shaver Photography

Comments

  1. Sooooooooooooooooooo special!
    And Beautiful!
    Nannie

Trackbacks

  1. […] to do with it??? Ah, ha! A backdrop for the dessert table! if you read the original post about the party, you know that the desserts from the dessert table ended up moving inside before everything […]

  2. […] for personalizing gifts, home decor, and party crafts. I may borrow some of the ideas from this Woodsy themed Baptism for my sister’s baby shower next […]

  3. […] for personalizing gifts, home decor, and party crafts. I may borrow some of the ideas from this Woodsy themed Baptism for my sister’s baby shower next […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.