A Low Volume Modern She Made Swap

This swap, like the quilt block I told you about on Monday, was also a learning experience. My partner requested a low volume piece. A What???

ModernSheMade-PIllowDtl-ImFeelinCrafty

What in the world is low volume?? Can you say totally foreign to me with all my bright crazy colors? Um. Yes. So I had to do a little research on the subject. fast.

ModernSheMade-Fabric-ImFeelinCrafty

Basically, in a few words, it’s quilting with fabric that lacks contrast. I’ve since learned it’s a pretty popular quilting trend right now. I’m pretty embarrassed to even say this, but something I didn’t even know was going on… But I’m in the ‘Know’ now! It’s inda like the definition of Modern Quilting, in that I can’t find a real definition. Here’s what I’ve put together. It’s a lot of white/light grey. Mostly white. Pastels. No/Low contrast. Whites with small prints. Don’t use bright/saturated colors.

ModernSheMade-LowVolume-ImFeelinCrafty

So, based on those definitions, I got closer to low volume than I usually do, but I didn’t quite hit it on the head or anything! The light grey should maybe have been white… And there is contrast, just not as much as I usually do.  You can download a PDF with a nicely written story on Low Volume quilting here at Quilting Daily.

ModernSheMade-LowVolumeDtl-ImFeelinCrafty

In my attempt at low volume, I made a ‘Lone Star’ pillowcase. I used this tutorial by Hopeful Homemaker for my star. Like so many quilt blocks, it can be addicting too! I was to make more!

ModernSheMade-Goodies-ImFeelinCrafty

ModernSheMade-MugRug-ImFeelinCrafty

And for the goodies, I sent a bright (HA!) flexible ruler, a fun quilt shape template key ring and a little mug rug from the scraps.

ModernSheMade-Recieved-BeachgirlSews

And then… Back to the bright and bold! I was a lucky duck in this swap, too! Look at the wonderful placemats I received from Beachgirl Sews!

ModernSheMade-Recieved4-BeachgirlSews

Each one is different! They are fantastic! I hate to use them. But I also hate not too! Even the husband and kiddo are excited for the new placemats at the dinner table.

 

 

Shared with these Link Parties!

Comments

  1. Great job on your Lone star! I love the low volume look and am so glad my tutorial worked for you! I agree, they’re addicting. Thanks!

  2. yep, pretty sure you’ve got the low-volume thing figured out. it’s lovely! don’t you just love trying new blocks. I think that’s one of the best aspects of quilting. All those possibilities! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. […] low volume, ‘Lone Star’ pillowcase I made for a swap partner in […]

  2. […] I decided to make place-mats! Do you remember the place-mats I received in a swap last year? We love them and use them all the time. So I wanted more. The […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.