I Speak for the Trees, Truffula Trees That Is… A Mini Tutorial

My weekend posts are usually link love posts on something I’m obsessing about that other people have already done…. But this weekend, I’m still totally obsessing about The Lorax… I didn’t get to see it on Friday, but we’re going this Friday for our Mommie and Max Friday Movie Date!

ok, remember the poofs that I’m in love with? The ones I used the other day for the Lorax mask? Well, they make perfect mini Truffula Trees as well!

I got the orange poofs for the mask and, like I mentioned, went back to find more orange ones, but instead got all sorts of colors because the other thing I was when I look at these little poofs is Truffula Trees!

This is really just a mini tutorial. actually I don’t even know if it counts technically as a tutorial, but…

The materials I used were simple. Poofs, the wood sticks, or pencils, yellow, white and black paint and a paintbrush. First I painted the sticks yellow and then painted the little black lines. Next, just twist the poof around the top and Wahla, you have a mini little Truffula tree! I mean how easy is that??

You can make a little Truffula Tree scene decoration…

You can make Truffula Tree pencils for the sketcher or writer in your world….

Or they can be a beautiful bouquet!

What else would you do with your Truffula Trees? Cake Toppers! That would be cool…. What else?? My son loves them as Truffula Tree Wands…. hmmmm… anything else?

And if you’re looking to make more life-size Truffula Trees, don’t miss this other (real) tutorial I made! Yes, I do LOVE Dr Seuss and all his characters, but especially The Lorax!

Shared with these link parties!

Update: The poofs! I’ve had a lot of questions asking about the poofs for the mini trees. I got mine in the floral deptartment at JoAnn’s. I’ve found this link to buy poofs on etsy. These aren’t exactly what I used. The ones I used had elastic in them. These could be used with a little hot glue and the poofs, wrapped around. You can also just google Feather Poofs and you’ll find other options for purchase.

Comments

  1. Oh, these are SO cute!! Now I want all of my pens to have poofs on them. I’d love that, Lorax or no! ; )

  2. Where can I buy those poofs from?

  3. Been searching everywhere for these! Can you give me any more info (brand, etc) that could help me locate them. I’ll pay someone to ship them if they are out there somewhere. 🙂
    Thanks for any help.
    Amy

  4. i was wondering if you could describe the steps to making the mini trees. i am going to use your design for a fair.

    • The steps are pretty simple. They are written above in the mini tutorial, but basically, I painted the sticks and then wrapped the poofs around the stick! Or if you can’t find the elastic poofs, you could glue feather poofs on the end. Check out some of the other comments for more info I’ve found on where to find the poofs! GOod luck with your project!

  5. I would really love information on how to get the poofs. Did you locate a link or anywhere online to order them? Thanks!

    • I got mine in the floral deptartment at JoAnn’s. I’ve found this link to buy poofs on etsy. These aren’t exactly what I used. The ones I used had elastic in them. These could be used with a little hot glue and the poofs, wrapped around. You can also just google Feather Poofs and you’ll find other options for purchase. Hope this helps!

  6. They are so cute🍭🍭🍭

  7. Where you get the poofs?

Trackbacks

  1. […] with two things the last couple of weeks…. The Lorax of course, with the mask and the Truffula Tree… And also Project Quilting. Then along came the Modern Mini […]

  2. […] Truffula Tree party favors hardly get much cuter than these Truffula tree pencils on the I’m Feelin’ Crafty blog. (I’m feelin’ sort of icky today, as it happens.) Visit the blog for the […]

  3. […] also made these Truffula Tree pencils using a tutorial I found on I’m Feelin’ Crafty.  The kids used them to mark off the funny things they found on the ”Funny Things” […]

  4. […] Truffula Tree party favors hardly get much cuter than these Truffula tree pencils on the I’m Feelin’ Crafty blog. (I’m feelin’ sort of icky today, as it happens.) Visit the blog for the […]

  5. […] 2. Ok, yes, we (I) love the Lorax and the Truffula Trees. We made little ones on pencils. […]

  6. […] know a young reader or writer who loves The Lorax by Dr. Seuss? I’m Feeling Crafty’s Truffula Trees Mini-Tutorial is easy to follow and requires minimal materials. You’ll have your own pencil topper in no […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.