Owl Party Tutorial Two- Stuffed Owl Favors

These little guys are just adorable! And they are perfect for little hands to take home from the party!

I had really grand plans for these guys. Originally, the design in my head was all fabric,  there was no felt, four separate piece for the wings, much bigger and buttons for the eyes! Then we realized how many we needed. And the grandness of these little stuffies came down a notch! In my opinion, their cuteness was not sacrificed for the need for a little more speed!

Growing up there were three of us friends. We grew apart for a few years, but reconnected and it’s like we never missed a beat. Two of the three of us live in Florida, but I was the one that really went far from home… The funny thing about us is there are two of us who are crafty and one who claims not to be… (I have a feeling that she’s got a little crafty in there…) But we were all sitting around the table thinking about the owl favors and I drew the pattern and started cutting and before long had the first one made. It was so funny to see the amazement in  my friend’s face when the owl was done. It seemed like I had just come up with the idea and poof it was done, but I’d been thinking about these little owls for quite some time!!

Here’s how I made them…

1. Materials:

Fabric, for these I used an old sheet and an old men’s shirt

Felt

Stuffing

Scissors

Thread

Pattern- Click here for the pattern!

2. Cut all the pieces.

3. Sew on the white of the eyes.

4. Glue on the blue eyes. Or you could sew them on.

5. 5a- Layout the pieces.  5b- Layer the wings right sides together with the front. 5c- Add the back layer. Again, right sides together with the front.

6. Sew around the edge leaving a small opening at the bottom.

7. Pull the owl through the hole so it’s right side is out.

8. Stuff.

9. Handstitch the bottom.

And as I usually say… WaLah! One owl favor down… How many more should we make??

Party Favors are a big deal to me. I don’t know why I love them so, but I do! And I try, try, try to come up with favors that come from the heart, are handmade and that will bring smiles for a long time, not just for a day…

What was the favorite party favor that you or your child has ever received?? Let me know, I’m always looking for new ideas!

Shared on:

Comments

  1. THESE ARE ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL! YOU ALWAYS COME UP WITH SUCH UNIQUE AND ADORABLE CRAFTS – WISH I HAD YOUR TALENTS! ANYHOW, IS THERE ANYWAY YOU COULD SHARE THE TEMPLATE FOR US TO TRY TO MAKE OUR OWN OWLS? I WOULD REALLY LIKE THAT A LOT & I AM SURE OTHERS WOULD TOO. KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK! YOU ROCK!

    • lwackerman says:

      Thank you!! And oops! I totally forgot to attach the pattern! It’s there now. In the material list is the link for the pattern. My apologies for that!

  2. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THE PATTERN!

  3. love the blue one. cute, cute, cute!

  4. I love these!!!! So cute!

  5. Hi,
    I adore these cute owl party favors. You have been featured in Wednesday WordPlay party “Sewing” features because you are awesome.. Come check it out and grab your featured button.. Enjoy! 🙂

  6. Sandy Nelson says:

    What are the dimensions of these little fellows? My twin granddaughters love owls and I’m thinking of making two for them–thanks to you!

    • I’m sorry I didn’t get back sooner. I tried to find the one we still have, but couldn’t. The pattern makes them about 5×5 I believe. But you can enlarge to as big as you’d like! Let me know if you have any other questions!

Trackbacks

  1. […] I remembered the little owl party favors I had done! Then it all came together. Well, the next day anyway! It made sense. She’s moving […]

  2. […] nyugodtan biggyessz oda egyet, sokkal karakteresebb lesz majd őkelme ! Ezt a klassz leírást feelincrafty készítette […]

  3. […] Cute Owl Party Favors that are sure to make everyone Smile a little more wider at Feelin’ Crafty. […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.