KCWC- Day 5- Upcycled Sweatshirt

ok, I’m so excited again! So, you know the other day I made my own pattern for the comfy pants, right? Well, I’ve always been scared to make my own shirt pattern. But I did it anyway last night.

I traced a bigg-ish t-shirt. Then added the seam allowances… And I cut the fabric and pinned on the sleeves and it fit together perfectly!!! I was soooo excited!

I started with an old sweatshirt of my husband’s. The one on top there. It’s a little nubby and has a little paint stain, but I love the tree and birds so much that I couldn’t let it go! And these sweatpants. Ya know what else makes me super excited? Ok, this might be kinda silly to some people, but…. When I have a spur of the moment idea and I just happen to have everything on hand to make it work! Like this sweatshirt. I really love the image on it, but I didn’t want a full on black sweatshirt. So I looked at the hidden shelf under my ironing board where I have some of my ‘to-up-cycle’ stash and there they were! The sweatpants that I think match perfectly! YEAH!!!

I cut the the shirt and the hoodie out of the middle of the old sweatshirt. Luckily my son has a big head! Always has. His daycare teacher told us that in her country big heads are a sign of brilliance. So not only is he brilliant, but his head doesn’t look too out-of-place in an adult size hoodie! I cut the arms out of the legs of the sweatpants, so I didn’t need to hem the arms. Sewed those three pieces together. Then I trimmed out the ribbing at the bottom of the sweatshirt and sewed that onto the bottom of my new little sweatshirt.

And Wah-la! A cute little hoodie!! Once I got it all sewed together I was worried that the arms ended up too small, so I took a break and waited til morning to try it on the kiddo. IT FIT!! I’m so excited about it.

I think next time, I will make the arms a little bit roomier. But for this one, it fits perfectly! This was so easy, I’ll have to do a quick tutorial for you soon. SOOOO EASY!

And what about you? Have you made anything this week that you’re super excited about???

Shared with these Link Parties!

Comments

  1. Awesome idea!! I keep wanting to use the hoods on thrifted sweatshirts for something but not sure what. Thanks for the inspiration.

  2. love it! don’t you just love when things come together………

  3. This is super cute! i love your enthusiasm 😀

Trackbacks

  1. […] as excited about it as the other one I made, but I’m pretty content with […]

  2. […] I think this sweatshirt I remade for my son is a super close second behind the 4th of July shirt! […]

  3. […] So welcome to my Stripes and Dots upcycled sweatshirt! This project might remind you of another upcycled sweatshirt I made for the kiddo. I don’t know why, but I love the oversized hoody look on my […]

  4. […] I’m feelin’ crafty shared this boy upcycle. So hip and chic. I love it! […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.